What versions of Linux are supported or certified with OpenEdge 11?

« Go Back


Article Number000026696
EnvironmentProduct: OpenEdge
Version: 11.0
OS: Linux
Question/Problem Description
What versions of Linux are supported or certified with OpenEdge 11?
What versions of Linux are supported with OpenEdge 11?
What versions of Linux are certified with OpenEdge 11?
Steps to Reproduce
Clarifying Information
Error Message
Defect/Enhancement Number
The following information applies only to OE 11.0 release, as it was taken from the Product Availability Guide dated January 10, 2017.
For other OE 11.x releases, please see OpenEdge Product Availability Guide or another article listed in the Notes section below.

Certified platforms

  • SUSE Enterprise Server 11
  • Oracle Linux 5.4
  • CentOS 5.4
  • CentOS 6.1 
  • Red Hat 5.4 
  • RedHat 6 (NOTE 1, 2 and 3)

NOTE1:  To run the 32-bit OpenEdge product on a Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.x operating system, you must first install the
libstdc++-4.4.4-13.el6.i686.rpm RPM, which can be found on the Red Hat installation media.

  • CentOS 5.4
  • CentOS 6.1 
  • Red Hat 5.4
  • Red Hat 6.1 (Note 2)
  • Red Hat 6.3 (Note 2)
  • Red Hat 7.0 (64-bit)
  • Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS 64-bit (certified for OE11.3.2 and higher) 
  • Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64-bit (certified for OE11.6.3 and higher)
  • Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64-bit (certified for OE11.7.3 and higher)
NOTE2:  If using IPV6 with OpenEdge on a Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.x operating system, you will need to add -agenthost
0::0 to the agent connection string (srvrStartupParam) in the file. This forces a specific
Application Server and all of its agents to communicate only with IPV6. If you have a mixed environment of IPV4
and IPV6, you will need to have dedicated Application Servers for each protocol version.

NOTE3:  OpenEdge 11.7 requires as minimum Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.6 operating system since the CDC feature built in the product requires this level of Linux.

Supported platforms

No validation or regression tests have been performed on the below platforms.
However, should a problem occur, Progress will investigate the issue and attempt to fix the problem.

32 and 64-bit
  • RedHat 6.4
  • RedHat 6.5
  • RedHat 6.6
  • RedHat 6.7
  • RedHat 6.8
  • RedHat 6.9
  • RedHat 7.1
  • RedHat 7.2
  • RedHat 7.3
  • Oracle Linux 6.0 - 6.4 
  • Oracle Linux 6.5 & 6.6 
  • Oracle Linux 6.7 – 6.8
  • Oracle Linux 7.0 – 7.3 

Last Modified Date11/29/2018 1:08 AM

The origins of the information on this site may be internal or external to Progress Software Corporation (“Progress”). Progress Software Corporation makes all reasonable efforts to verify this information. However, the information provided is for your information only. Progress Software Corporation makes no explicit or implied claims to the validity of this information.

Any sample code provided on this site is not supported under any Progress support program or service. The sample code is provided on an "AS IS" basis. Progress makes no warranties, express or implied, and disclaims all implied warranties including, without limitation, the implied warranties of merchantability or of fitness for a particular purpose. The entire risk arising out of the use or performance of the sample code is borne by the user. In no event shall Progress, its employees, or anyone else involved in the creation, production, or delivery of the code be liable for any damages whatsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of business profits, business interruption, loss of business information, or other pecuniary loss) arising out of the use of or inability to use the sample code, even if Progress has been advised of the possibility of such damages.

Was this article helpful?


Your feedback is appreciated.

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful. Please provide us a way to contact you, should we need clarification on the feedback provided or if you need further assistance.

Characters Remaining: 1025