Upgrade to OpenEdge 11.5.0
, where Enhancement PSC00311756 was implemented for PROMON users.
While a PROMON user (MON) still cannot disconnect themselves from their current PROMON session:
a. A promon user (MON) can disconnect another PROMON Session through: PROMON > 8. Shut Down Database > 1 Disconnect a User
b. A promon user can be disconnected with: proshut -C disconnect user <user num of MON user>
c. Prior to 11.5 a promon user could not be disconnected, except by Quitting the session themselves and would otherwise prevent database startup (error 1260) until their promon session was stopped. From OpenEdge 11.5, when a promon user is disconnected through either methods above, the promon user will be flagged for being disconnected, User 5 disconnect initiated. (6796), but not be logged out until they quit their current menu session or when the database is shut down.
d. If the database is a managed database, stop it with 'proshut -by' instead of dbman -stop or though the OE console. For further information refer to Article: 000052723, PROMON or PROSHUT sessions remain running after dbman -stop